E-bikes – easily explained

You don’t need to have special technical skills or knowledge. But we are happy to provide you with simple and understandable answers to questions often asked about e-bikes:

What is the energy booster?

Your pedal power is assisted by the power from a small but powerful electric motor. Our pedelecs and e-bikes are not driven alone by motor power: It is a clever and perfectly metered combination of muscle power and electrical assistance – and you are always active!

How fast do you ride with this energy booster?

As fast as you want. Once you reach 25 km/h, the electrical power is switched off gradually. It is only possible to go faster then thanks to your own pedal power or because you are riding downhill.

How is the energy booster switched on?

A push of a button, and the e-bike is ready to go. The energy booster is activated immediately, even if you are pedalling.

How is the energy booster controlled?

It is fully automatically adjusted to the power that you apply to the pedals (pedal assist).

What is eco-mode?

The electrical booster can be incrementally adjusted on many e-bikes. There are models with two, three and four increments. The eco mode uses the energy booster sparingly and thus saves energy. This is why the range is greater for one charging cycle. If there is an additional power mode (every e-bike has a standard mode), this means: Riding with more energy from the booster, so with more powerful assistance! However, this does reduce the range of a battery charge. You can easily change the mode when riding by pushing a button on the handlebars.

Is it possible to ride without using the energy booster?

An e-bike can be ridden like a conventional bicycle without motorised assistance. You can fully deactivate the motorised assistance. As a result, it is not a tragedy should you use up the energy in the battery before reaching your destination.

What is the push-off assist?

E-bikes with a push-off assist can cover a short distance with motor power alone (up to a speed of 6 km/h or 20 km/h)! This makes riding off easier – a welcome additional convenience particularly in urban traffic!

How high are the electricity costs?

A VICTORIA e-bike consume approximately 0.5 kilowatt hours of electrical energy for 50 km. This equates to an estimated EUR 0.10 in electricity costs. In other words: If you are out cycling on your e-bike for around five hours and have forgotten to switch off a conventional 100-watt light bulb at home, then this light bulb will consume as much power as you will on your bike ride.

What range does a single battery charge have?

The range of a battery charge depends on many factors. Apart from the selected mode, other factors include the age and condition of the battery, the rider’s weight, the route profiles, wind and temperature, the road conditions, the tyre pressure, and even the stop-go frequency. The ranges specified in this catalogue are average values and provide you with a realistic expectation.

How long does it take to charge the batteries?

State-of-the-art lithium-ion batteries require between 2.5 and 8 hours depending on the residual charge, type of battery and charger. You can recharge the battery at any time. Incidentally: The battery’s energy capacity reduces inevitably during the course of a battery life of 800 or more charging cycles. As a result, the power available will gradually reduce.

How do you best store the battery over winter?

Do you not use your e-bike for more than two months, e.g. in winter? Then you should store your battery in a frost-proof room (ideally at 15–20°C) and the battery should be charged to approximately 40 to 60%. The battery gradually loses charge while not in use. But you should charge the battery every two to three months. This prevents deep discharging. This complete discharge (it occurs solely through not being in use) impairs the battery’s storage capacity and could even render the battery unusable.

How long do the batteries last?

We use state-of-the-art, lightweight lithium-ion batteries. These batteries can be fully charged approximately 500 times with careful handling – this is a distance of 40,000 km when used for an average range!

Does an e-bike have to be serviced?

Take your e-bike to your e-bike dealer to be serviced at least once a year. This contributes towards maintaining the value of your e-bike, ensures your safety in traffic and allows you to enjoy the full benefits of the power on every ride.

However, do read the operating instructions for your e-bike thoroughly (download here), so that you will charge your special battery correctly and maximise your usage of your e-bike.

E-Räder – einfach erklärt

Besonderes technisches Können und Wissen brauchen Sie nicht. Aber wir geben gerne einige einfache und verständliche Antworten auf Fragen, die zu E-Rädern oft gestellt werden:

Was ist das Plus an Energie?

Die eigene Trittleistung wird mit der Kraft aus einem kleinen, leistungsstarken Elektromotor unterstützt. Unsere Pedelecs fahren also nicht alleine mit Motorkraft, Sie müssen also immer auch selbst in die Pedale treten.

Wie schnell fährt man mit dem Plus an Energie?

So schnell wie Sie wollen. Wenn Sie die Geschwindigkeit von 25 km/h  erreicht haben, schaltet die Unterstützung automatisch sanft ab. Schneller wird es dann nur durch Ihre Pedalkraft oder weil es bergab geht.

Wie wird das Plus an Energie eingeschaltet?

Per Knopfdruck – und schon ist das e-Rad startklar. Das Plus an Energie wird sofort aktiviert, wenn Sie selbst in die Pedale treten.

Wie wird das Plus an Energie gesteuert?

Vollautomatisch angepasst an die Leistung, die Sie per Trittkraft aufbringen und an der Anzahl der Kurbelumdrehungen.

Was bedeutet Eco-Modus?

Bei unseren Pedelecs kann aus verschiedenen Unterstützungsstufen gewählt werden. Der Eco-Modus ist die erste bzw. geringste Stufe, die Reichweite ist hier am größten. Die unterschiedlichen Modi können natürlich während der Fahrt oder im Stillstand variiert werden.

Kann man auch ohne das Plus an Energie fahren?

Man kann. Beabsichtigt (durch Nicht-Einschalten) oder unbeabsichtigt (wenn die zu fahrende Strecke länger ist, als die Reichweite des Akkus zulässt) ist dies kein Problem, da die Pedelecs so konzipiert sind, dass sie auch ohne E-Unterstützung gefahren werden können. Einzig das etwas höhere Gewicht (bedingt durch den Antrieb) lässt sich nicht wegdiskutieren.

Was ist die Anfahrhilfe?

E-Räder mit Anfahrhilfe können eine kurze Strecke nur mit Motorkraft fahren (bis zur Geschwindigkeit von 6 km/h bzw. 20 km/h)! Das macht das Anfahren leichter – gerade im Stadtverkehr ist es ein willkommener Extra-Komfort!

Wie hoch sind die Stromkosten?

Pauschal kann man sagen, dass ein moderner Antrieb auf 100 km rund 20 Cent Stromkosten verursacht (mal mehr, mal weniger – je nach Anbieter). Die Kosten sind somit also zu vernachlässigen. Wer will, kann diese ja einmal mit seinem PKW vergleichen.

Wie weit reicht eine Akku-Ladung?

Die Reichweite je Akkuladung wird von vielen Faktoren beeinflusst. Neben dem gewählten Modus sind das ferner das Alter und der Zustand des Akkus, das Fahrergewicht, das Streckenprofil, Wind und Temperatur, die Fahrbahneigenschaften, der Reifenluftdruck etc. Unsere Reichweitenangaben sind daher Durchschnittswert, die in der Praxis abweichen können.

Wie lange laden die Akkus?

Die hochmodernen Lithium-Ionen-Akkus laden je nach System/Hersteller zwischen 2,5 und 8 Stunden. Akkus können jederzeit nachgeladen werden, dies sollte aber immer nur mit dem originalen Ladegerät erfolgen, das Sie beim Kauf des Pedelecs miterworben haben. Übrigens: Im Laufe eines Akku-Lebens verringert sich zwangsläufig die Aufnahmekapazität an Energie. Die Ihnen zur Verfügung stehende Unterstützungsleistung wird sich deshalb nach und nach leicht verringern.

Wie überwintert der Akku am besten?

Sie nutzen Ihr Pedelec mehr als zwei Monate nicht, zum Beispiel im Winter? Dann sollten Sie Ihren Akku in einem frostfreien Raum lagern (am besten bei 15-20 Grad Celsius). Dabei sollte der Akku zu circa 40 bis 60 Prozent geladen sein. Der Akku verliert in der Ruhezeit nur sehr langsam Strom. Laden Sie ihn dennoch alle zwei bis drei Monate nach! Das vermeidet die sogenannte „Tiefentladung“. Diese vollständige Entladung (sie tritt nur in Ruhezeiten, nicht durch Gebrauch auf) würde die Speicherfähigkeit des Akkus sehr beeinträchtigen und könnte den Akku sogar unbrauchbar machen.

Wie lange halten die Akkus?

Wir verwenden moderne, leichte Lithium-Ionen-Akkus. Diese Akkus können bei sorgfältiger Handhabung rund 500 mal vollständig geladen werden – bei durchschnittlicher Reichweite von 80 km ist das eine Fahrleistung von 40.000 Kilometer!

Muss ein Pedelec in die Inspektion?

Bringen Sie Ihr E-Rad mindestens einmal im Jahr bei Ihrem E-Punkt zur Inspektion. Das trägt zur Werterhaltung Ihres Pedelecs bei, sorgt für Ihre Sicherheit im Verkehr und lässt Sie bei jeder Fahrt die ganze „Energie erleben“.

Bitte lesen Sie trotzdem immer aufmerksam die Bedienungsanleitung ihres E-Rades (zum Download), damit Sie Ihren speziellen Akku richtig aufladen und Ihr E-Rad optimal nutzen können.